## The Wall of Distinction was established in 2004 with the Notable Graduate Award.

- Twenty-five years have passed since attendance at Indianola High School
- Achievement demonstrated by outstanding scholarly, professional, and community service

### The Notable Educator Award was established in 2010.

- Served as an educator in the Indianola School District for at least ten years
- Achievement demonstrated by outstanding scholarly, professional, and/or community service

All nominations must be submitted to the office at the high school by March 1 of the selection year in writing with documentation as to why the nominee should be selected.

Questions? Call the high school at 961-9510.

#### Selection Committee

Irene Bertsch: Retired Teacher
Craig Calhoun: High School Principal
Irene Case: Retired Teacher
Jori Coghlan: High School
John Criswell: Community
Cyd Dyer: Community
Joel Hade: Community

Joel Hade: Community

John Monroe: Retired Principal

Jo Reynolds: Community



# 2018 Wall of Distinction

Established 2004

Proud Traditions . . . Unlimited Possibilities

### **Notable Graduate**

Dr. John O'Brien

Class of 1987

Graduating from Iowa State University and California Institute of Technology, O'Brien was professor of electrical engineering and the first Executive Vice Dean, Viterbi Engineering Department, University of Southern California. Known for establishing a remarkable culture of collaboration and inclusion, his recognitions include Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers and NSF Career Award. In 2017, USC posthumously dedicated the new John D. O'Brien Nanofabrication Laboratory along with the annual John O'Brien Faculty Service Award.

### **Notable Graduates**

Jill (Sandy) Anderson 1978 (2005)

Glen 'Bodge' Bowles 1935 (2005)

Richard 'Dick' Buxton 1954 (2005)

**William Buxton III** 1924 *(2005)* 

Dr. Garland DeNelsky 1956 (2009)

**Bob Downing** 1959 (2012)

**Dayton Duncan** 1967 (2005)

Rollin Dyer 1944 (2010)

Junior Edwards 1944 (2005)

**Dr. Carl Fackler** 1960 (2005)

Dr. Ben F. Gaumer 1972 (2008)

**Joel E. Hade** 1975 (2013)

**Bill Hale** 1969 *(2014)* 

Dr. Joseph D. Hall 1954 (2007)

**Steve Hall** 1958 *(2010)* 

Dr. James C. Hickman 1945 (2006)

Lewis Kimer 1935 (2006)

**Daniel W. Koch** 1967 (2017)

The Lane Sisters: Leota, Lola, Rosemary, Priscilla

1921, 1923, 1931, 1933 *(2005)* 

Charles O. 'Chuck' Laverty 1934 (2005)

**Larry McConnell** 1974 (2014)

Susan Nyswonger McCracken 1967 (2014)

Alan McKee 1960 (2005)

Paul McKee 1976 (2005)

James I. Middleswart 1930 (2005)

**Dr. Don Moorman** 1969 (2005)

Dr. Genelle Grant Morain 1946 (2009)

Dr. Ronald V. Norris 1958 (2008)

J. Steven Patrick 1971 (2011)

Dana (Starr) Petersen 1980 (2012)

William T. Proudfoot 1878 (2005)

**Gary Ruble** 1958 (2011)

**Ruth Buxton Sayre** 1913 (2005)

**Jerry Stockton** 1961 (2016)

**Cheryl A. Thomas** 1975 (2017)

Todd R. Wood 1982 (2013)

### **Notable Educators**

Dee Allen 1972-2002 (2015)

Dan Bertsch 1985-2010 (2014)

Irene Bertsch 1983-2010 (2014)

Arlan Brown 1962-63; 1966-2000 (2012)

Irene Middleswart Case 1969-2002 (2013)

Freda Caviness 1939-1986 (2012)

**Art Eady** 1957-1982 *(2011)* 

Jo Ann Eddy 1960-1998 (2014)

Harry Grange 1927-1965 (2012)

Kathleen S. Mahlstadt 1958-1999 (2016)

Dixie Allen Ruble 1964-2001 (2015)

Evo Sjeklocha 1946-1984 (2011)